Back to news
Jamie Roberts spots other 'potentially very dangerous' Lions act he wants answers on
@Source: walesonline.co.uk
Jamie Roberts has moved to shift the spotlight away from Jac Morgan's clearout in the Lions' win over the Wallabies on Saturday towards a different 'potentially very dangerous act' in the same game. The tourists came from behind in the second Test to snatch the win and the series in Melbourne, with Hugo Keenan muscling over the try line with seconds to spare. In the build-up to the score, Morgan was involved in an incident with Australia's Carlo Tizzano which saw the Wales and Ospreys skipper clear out his opposite number. Sign up to Inside Welsh rugby on Substack to get exclusive news stories and insight from behind the scenes in Welsh rugby. Ultimately judged as legal, the moment has provoked mass debate and conjecture , with two former World Rugby referees - Nigel Owens and Wayne Barnes - chiming in with their expert verdicts and the CEO of Rugby Australia demanding answers from the sport's governing body. But former Wales and Lions centre Roberts has shifted the focus away from Morgan and instead put the trackers on another controversial moment during the game - Dan Sheehan's try. The Ireland hooker took a quick tap and dived over would-be Wallaby tacklers from short range to plonk down over the line for the Lions' first of the match, which immediately brought about protestations from the men in gold. It triggered comparisons to Blair Murray against Scotland in the Six Nations earlier this year, when the Scarlets man was pinged for jumping out of a tackle on the way to a Wales try. But the laws are different when the individual in possession is in the act of scoring a try, something which Dan Biggar pointed out on Sky Sports . "It’s just really smart play from Sheehan, (Andrea) Piardi said you are allowed to jump in the act of scoring a try," said Biggar. "I don’t know if anyone remembers Blair Murray got a try ruled out in the Wales v Scotland match in the Six Nations for jumping over a tackle, but it wasn’t in the act of scoring. "In the act of scoring, it’s OK. Smart play from Dan Sheehan." Roberts, however, wants clarity on the act, believing there are risks associated with it that youngsters could endeavour to copy. "Lots of chat about THAT ruck and cleanout," he wrote on X. "More intrigued by the law around Sheehan's (smart) try and its implications. Having seen it be allowed at the top of the game, many (& kids) could now emulate a potentially very dangerous act. Be good to get clarification @WorldRugby." Ex-referee Owens, who has also given his view of the Morgan incident, replied to Roberts' post, stating: "Getting airborne to score a try in the act of scoring is fine. You also then can be tackled whilst in the air. If you felt he was jumping or diving to avoid tackle then PK. A very tricky one but that’s what you need to decide on to make your decision." Roberts responded, adding: "Diolch Nige. What if he’s jumping to avoid a tackle (which he was) in the act of diving to score a try (which he was)? Which supersedes which in such a case? Can we expect lots of teams to now start doing this with their big carriers a few metres out, with precedent now set?" Owens replied: "Good point mate. I think you see this more usually with winger or ur (sic) good self diving into the corner to score. Because this was in field & tackler coming at him rather than chasing him it makes it look different. It’s a tough one with arguments for PK or try both valued."
Related News
16 Apr, 2025
Tonight's rugby news as three young Wels . . .
03 Apr, 2025
The Company Aiming to Revolutionize Our . . .
19 Jun, 2025
Woman Doctor Attacked, Car vandalised; 2 . . .
16 Jun, 2025
Video: 6’11 16-year-old Juom Maker Bol i . . .
08 Jun, 2025
England ace chase to continue unbeaten s . . .
28 Jul, 2025
Video shows dramatic crash on L.A. freew . . .
01 Apr, 2025
'Full House' star Dave Coulier reportedl . . .
25 Jun, 2025
Can Nato keep Donald Trump happy?