With Lynagh prone at a ruck, Sheehan came from distance and tucked a shoulder to clean him out, and then made contact with the Wallaby’s head with his elbow. It was dangerous and Lynagh was identified immediately afterwards as needing a HIA, which he failed.
For reasons that are still unclear, TMO Marius Jonker did not spot the Sheehan elbow and refer it to the referee, despite protocol around HIA’s meaning the match officials must search for any foul play that could have caused it.
To be cited by World Rugby, and enter a judiciary process, an incident must meet a red-card threshhold.
World Rugby issued a release on Sunday, saying: “British & Irish Lions player Dan Sheehan will have a citing complaint reviewed by an Independent Foul Play Review Committee (FPRC) after being cited by the independent citing commissioner Adrien Menez for an act of foul play contrary to Law 9.20 (a) (a player must not charge into a ruck or maul…) in the Australia v British & Irish Lions third test in Sydney on Saturday, 2 August.
Related News
14 Jul, 2025
Coronation Street star Jennie McAlpine s . . .
09 Apr, 2025
"That makes a difference to the game" - . . .
11 Apr, 2025
India Or England? Travis Head Picks His . . .
15 Mar, 2025
Two classic movies starring the late Gen . . .
09 Jul, 2025
UAE: Limited legal protection for non-co . . .
09 Jun, 2025
Oprah Winfrey is thinner than ever in bl . . .
13 Aug, 2025
Stream It Or Skip It: ‘Sharp Corner’ on . . .
03 Apr, 2025
Abbey Clancy admits she and Peter Crouch . . .